Not All Who Wander…

I have a few quotes that I really enjoy. They aren’t all inspirational. They don’t all have some deeper or hidden meaning. Some are actually quite silly and not really something that most would go “oh, I should make that a part of my soundtrack.” But they all either give me a moment to think, a kick in the arse, or a really good laugh. Honestly the last is something that is needed more often than anything else.

So, here are a few of my favorites, in no particular order beyond what order I can remember them in.

“All that glitters is not gold. Not all those who wander are lost.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

“There is an art to flying, or rather a knack. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.”
Douglas Adams

“Don’t Panic.”
Douglas Adams

“It just so happens that your friend here is only MOSTLY dead. There’s a big difference between mostly dead and all dead. Mostly dead is slightly alive.”
Miracle Max from The Princes Bride

“Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls.”
Joseph Campbell

“The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.”
Eden Ahbez

“The minute I heard my first love story I started looking for you, not knowing how blind that was. Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They’re in each other all along.”
Rumi

“Oh Beloved, take away what I want. Take away what I do. Take away what I need. Take away everything that takes me from you.”
Rumi

“It’s not denial. I’m just selective about the reality I accept.”
Bill Watterson

“Scientific Progress goes boink?”
Bill Watterson

More than enough to be getting on with today, but they were really amusing to look up again. I now have the urge to read my Calvin and Hobbes comics and Hitchhikers again. And since I used Goodreads to find some of these I’m reminded of the books that are still on my to-read book list. And trying to figure out how many books I have read but don’t remember and thus haven’t been added to my “read” list. Ah well.

I’m off to spend some time with Calvin and Hobbes. ‘ll even let my husband come and join us if he so chooses.

Leave a Reply

