The Bungled Media Response to the Boston Marathon Bombing

My husband and I were discussing nearly all of these last night as we listened to radio broadcasts and all the people calling in. So much disinformation. So many people trying to come up with reasons to explain something when there is truly little of the investigation completed. Wouldn’t it be better to let the police and FBI work on their investigation and let Boston take care of the injured before we start jumping to conclusions?

oohlaladeborah

Yesterday, an act of pure malice occurred. At around 2:50 pm, 2 bombs (and a little later, an unrelated explosion), exploded near the finish line of the Boston Marathon. The current casualty count is 3 deaths (including an 8 year old boy) and 144 injuries, many of which are amputations caused by the nearby bombs.

I was on the phone with my friend in California when my mom told me to turn on the TV. When I first saw the early coverage a few minutes after the bombs detonated, I said to my friend and to my mom, “This looks like a coordinated attack”. Police and other officials were very careful in the first few hours about calling the event any kind of attack or concerted effort. When Vice President Biden used the term
“act of terror”–which is what this was–the media went crazy about the significance of this term…

View original post 1,275 more words

Leave a Reply

