Reading!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

Let’s see, if I look at my goodreads account I am reading several books and apparently none of them are things I’ve picked up in the last two weeks. Whoops! So what am I actually reading?
The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

This is the first of what is planned to be 10-15 books in a series called The Stormlight Archive. Brandon Sanderson has been thinking and writing this series since he first started writing as a teenager. Even with only one book out (the 2nd should be coming out late this year, yay!) it’s clear that Sanderson knows where he’s going and what’s going to happen and has developed his writing enough that it promises to be a great high, epic fantasy story. I’m actually re-re-reading it right now along with several hundred other fans through a Tor sponsored guided re-read thing where everyone gets to have details they missed pointed out to them. I’m loving it! I’m also going through my kindle copy of the book and highlighting all the things that I feel are important to reference later or beg questions that may be answered later.

He’s a Stud, She’s a Slut, and 49 Other Double Standards Every Woman Should Know by Jessica Valenti

I’m sort of on this feminism kick and have been finding all sorts of interesting things to ponder and think about. This book has been feeding some of that interest and desire to know moar.

So then what did I just finish? Funny I should mention Jessica Valenti. My most recent finished book was another one she published, The Purity Myth: How America’s Obsession with Virginity is Hurting Young Women.

It was really eye opening. I hadn’t realized just how lucky I was to grow up in the county and state I did. It also pisses me off to realize just how much this country is being dragged backwards by people who really have absolutely no right to be determining what is best for others. But I’m going to stop here before I go all grr argh so late at night.

Anywho, what’s on my to-read list?
Well, I need to finish my Star Wars stuff.

I have more Robert Heinlein to read.

And of course, I have a whole bunch of steampunk authors to catch up on, starting with this book:


From there, I’ve got several other books on my to-get and read list including the other two Penny Dread Tales books. Yay for books!

2 thoughts on “Reading!

  1. Last book I read: Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (I know I am behind on my Sci Fi)
    Currently Reading: Che- A Memoir by Fidel Castro (I love this stuff, read Fidels book a few years ago)
    Next on the list: Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson (got it on the shelf ready to roll!)

    • I love Hitchhikers! I didn’t read it until maybe 7 years ago so you’re not that far ahead of me.
      I’ve never really been able to get in biographies, kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

